Skip to main content

Our Safeguarding Team

Carole Johns

Governor Responsible for Safeguarding, e-Safety & Prevent

Carole has worked with children and young people in several residential special schools for children with SEMH in a number of roles including Head of Care and as a Family Inclusion & Safeguarding Manager. Carole was elected as Chair of Governors in September 2021 after three years on the board. She continues to be passionate about Child Protection and Safeguarding.

Sara Hack

Designated Safeguarding Lead (DSL)

Sara Hack is the “Designated Safeguarding Lead” (DSL) for Farney Close. This means she is responsible for ensuring that, to the best of her ability, all staff keep children and young people safe when at Farney Close and also when they are out of school.

Steve De Souza

Head of Care (Deputy DSL)

Becky Clements

School Social Worker (Deputy DSL)

Raymond Lau

Vice Principal

Sharon Radley


Sally Bourns

School Nurse

Austin Bye

Referrals and Inclusion Officer

James Mills

Head of Education & CEOPs Ambassador


Should you have a safeguarding concern please either contact the school by telephone or email

You can view our full Safeguarding and Child Protection Policy by clicking on the links below.

Safeguarding & CP Policy [PDF] [Online]

Prevent Policy [PDF] [Online]

Keeping Children Safe in Education Sept 2023 [PDF] [Online]

Working together to Safeguarding Children Dec 2023 [PDF] [Online]

Skip to content